The Art of Oil Pulling

This morning I woke up late and my father-in-law was already in the kitchen.  I then proceeded to open up the cupboard and scoop out a chunk of coconut oil and eat it. His face was priceless.  He was horrified.  It’s pretty disgusting so I don’t blame him, but I didn’t actually swallow it.  (yes, this is a perfect spot for an inappropriate joke but I didn’t go there.  You’re welcome…or not) I am practicing the ancient art of oil pulling.  Ok, it’s not an art but it sounded way more sophisticated so I went with it.

Selfies with coconut oil!

Selfies with coconut oil!

So what is oil pulling you ask? According to Wikipedia; Oil pulling or oil swishing is a traditional folk remedy where oil is swished or held in the mouth. Ayurvedic literature states oil pulling is capable of improving oral and systemic health, including a benefit in conditions such as headaches, migraines, diabetes mellitus, asthma,[1] and acne, as well as whitening teeth.[2] The mouth is rinsed with approximately one tablespoon of oil for 10–20 minutes then spat out.[2][3] Sesame oil, coconut oil and ghee are traditionally used,[2] but newer oils such as sunflower oil are also used.[2]The oils mix with the saliva, turning it into a thin, white liquid. Lipids in the oils begin to pull out toxins from the saliva. As the oil is swished around the mouth, teeth, gums and tongue, the oil continues to absorb toxins, and usually ends up turning thick and viscous and white.**

**The article had a bunch of “citations needed” but I deleted those because I’m not an ethical journalist (ha!).  And plus, it was making my blog post longer.

Yeah so based on that and a bunch of literature (and infographics on Facebook!) I read on the interwebs, I now swish oil in my mouth every morning.

...and it's awesome

…and it’s awesome

It really works IMO. Not only do I feel more energetic after I do it but my teeth are whiter and my mouth less disgusting in the morning.  I am only a few days in.  I did try this last year and felt great and my teeth looked awesome but then I was over it.  I am trying to get back on the wagon because I have seen the benefits.   It’s super hard to stick with for a variety of reasons.  Firstly, my four-year old feels the need to ask me every single question under the sun while I am trying to oil pull.  “Mommy, why do we have butts?”  It’s also not easy for me to stay quiet for 20 minutes even when no one is talking to me.  So, there’s that.  Also, it’s greasy and feels weird in your mouth.  And I’m also constantly freaking out that I am going to swallow it, along with all the gross toxins I am trying to rid my body of.  With those obstacles in the way, it was easy to quit.  But now I’m back on the wagon.  My brother** recently started doing it and has been calling me with all sorts of updates on why oil pulling is amazing.  So I’m all like, “I knew about that shit before you so I’m doing it and it’s going to be ahmazing.”  Nothing like good ol’ competitive spirit to get you back on track.

Cheers!

Cheers!

If you are interested in oil pulling, check out the benefits here.

Here’s a quick tutorial on how to do it!

**My brother promises me he’s going to become a contributor on this blog and his experiences will be even more informative I’m sure. Keep a look out for that and other posts from some of my favorite peeps in the future.  Hey, it takes a village.  And I’m lazy.  

Leave a Reply

